Clickstreet News

Serving the Information Needs of the Construction Industry since 1946.

The National Green Building Standard 2012 provides the green practices that can be incorporated into new homes, including high-rise multifamily buildings, home remodeling and additions, hotels and motels, and the site upon which the green homes are located.

The green practices include:

  • Lot design, preparation, and development
  • Resource, energy, and water efficiency
  • Indoor environmental quality
  • Operation, maintenance, and building owner education

The four threshold levels, Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Emerald provide builders with a means to achieve basic, entry-level green building, or achieve the highest level of sustainable green building that incorporates energy savings of 60 percent or higher.

The National Green Building Standard can be used by any builder for their individual projects, or be the basis for a local community or state green building program!